Return_to_Home.gif (2697 bytes)
SUPR News.gif (1232 bytes)
Navigational Bar.gif (2089 bytes)
Navigational Bar B.gif (950 bytes)

Back to News Index.gif (1062 bytes)

Jay Blair returns to SUPR victory lane at Pike County



Magnolia, Mississippi (June 12, 2004) – The week leading up to tonight’s race was not a good one for the 2000-2001 O’Reilly SUPR Late Model Champion but it was well worth it as Jay Blair returned to victory lane at Pike County Speedway.  Blair started on the outside pole and beat David Ashley to turn one and then led all 50 laps to take the win.


Blair was faced with a weekend without racing when he broke his primary motor and his engine builder was unable to deliver a new motor in time for the racing.  So the crew went searching for an option and turned to Klarr Racing Engines and was able to put together a last minute lease for the race.  The motor arrived at 3:00 p.m. on Friday and the team then scrambled to get the car ready for the short haul to the friendly environs of Pike County Speedway.  Blair won his heat race and started alongside Ashley in the feature.  Blair grabbed the lead from the start and kept Ashley at bay for most of the race.  Ashley came under attack from James Ward who took over second on lap 37.  At this point, Blair’s race heated up as Ward aggressively challenged Blair for the lead, looking for room underneath Blair.  Ward drew even a few times but Blair never relinquished the lead.  Ashley was not done as well as he kept pressing in third and with two laps to go, he went to the outside of ward to regain second.


Rob Litton recorded another solid top five finish this time in fourth with Ronny Adams finishing fifth.  Garrett Durrett, fresh off a big win last weekend at Fast Trax, came home sixth followed by Marlon Wild, Doug Ingalls, Ryan Plaisance and Lester Bernidas.


28 O’Reilly SUPR Late Models were on hand.  David Ashley, Jay Blair, Marlon Wild and James Ward won the heat races with Chris Hoyt claiming the last chance race.  David Ashley claimed the B&K Underground Top Qualifier money and he also collected an additional $100 bonus posted by Wall 2 Wall Performance Engines.  Danny Mahan earned the Creel Brothers Hard Charger award for passing the most cars in the feature.


Official Results:

1.    Jay Blair

2.    David Ashley

3.    James Ward

4.    Rob Litton

5.    Ronny Adams

6.    Garrett Durrett

7.    Marlon Wild

8.    Doug Ingalls

9.    Ryan Plaisance

10.  Lester Bernidas

11.  Brian Deroche

12.  Danny Mahan

13.  Jimmy Noland

14.  Brad Teal

15.  David Knight

16.  Kennith Crowe

17.  Ray Moore

18.  Donald Watson

19.  Jim Bryant

20.  Chad Guy

21.  Chris Hoyt  

About | News | Tracks | Results | Points | Schedule  | Photo Gallery |
Contact Us

© Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2004. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage

Maintained by Weakside Productions